About

The Eva Klesse Quartet keeps a biennial release rhythm with its fourth album, creatures & states. It is the follow-up to Miniatures – Ten Songs For Chamber Jazz Quartet, released at the end of October 2018 to critical acclaim. Many praised the intuitive and confident interactions of the band and the characteristic, variable language of sound: „There is hardly a bar as one would expect it to be in the tunes of this album. No cliché. No celebration of effects. But rather the pleasure of instrumental conversation,“ BR-Klassik (Bayerischer Rundfunk) stated. Matthias Wegner confirms in radio Deutschlandfunk Kultur: „…a wonderful overall sound: unagitated, but still full of depth.” Ulrich Steinmetzger noted in the newspaper Leipziger Volkszeitung: „The continuous development of the band, which focuses on fine details and mild moods rather than superficial surprise, is highly fascinating.”

The next chapter of the group’s artistic success story is creatures & states. Once again, the contemplative quartet, which was awarded the renown German Jazz-Echo in 2015, makes its focus clear: the telling of stories that draw from their experiences and feed from emotions. The group’s guidelines were simple: strategic considerations are of no importance. What is crucial, however, is a jointly developed sound, which deliberately avoids short-lived trends – what is hip today may be old news tomorrow.

creatures & states tells stories about living beings and the states they can get into. The band intentionally blurs reality, dream and fiction in its colorful pieces, taking listeners on a journey through different moods. „Our music is becoming more and more precise and profound“, Evgeny Ring explains, „The compositions gain even more importance. This project is first and foremost an ensemble record, which does not focus on overflowing solos. And for each piece we have a clear visual idea and share the same images in our minds“.

„We have a wonderful new bassist, survived the seven-year itch and went through ups and downs together“, says Eva Klesse joyfully. „There were crazy times when we were on tour intensively“, she remembers journeys in Europe, Turkey, eight countries in Central and South America, Malaysia and Egypt, where the quartet performed at festivals in Buenos Aires, Cairo, Mexico City, Santiago de Chile, among others. And then suddenly we had to face times of corona with extensive restrictions. „We get to know each other better on a human and musical level every day. On the other hand, we still manage to keep surprising each other with new pieces and compositions, and inspire and challenge each other on stage.“

creatures & states again manifests the international status of the quartet. Like its three predecessors, the album was recorded together in a room at Loft-Studio in Cologne. The intimacy and intensity of the sessions can be felt at all times. The energy in dynamic peaks seems to have grown noticeably once again, spurred on by the sometimes sensitive or whirlingly powerful playing by Klesse. The band confidently leaves traditions behind; their innovative power is evident in their cross-stylistic thinking, clever details and fine nuances. The music of the Eva Klesse Quartet impresses with substance and depth, elegance and individuality, verve and esprit.

 

“Klesse has undoubtedly found the perfect partner for her philosophy.” (Rondo)

“Music that suddenly reveals another world.”
(BR)

Evgeny Ring: Saxophone

Philip Frischkorn: Piano

Stefan Schönegg: Double Bass

Eva Klesse: Drums

Live

30.10.2020 Jazzfreunde, Kleve
 
12.11.2020 Unterfahrt, München
 
13.11.2020 Bird’s Eye, Basel, CH
 
14.11.2020 Bird’s Eye, Basel, CH
 
15.11.2020 Stadthalle, Werl
 
19.11.2020 Pianosalon, Berlin
 
20.11.2020 Jazzclub, Singen
 
21.11.2020 Jazzclub, Villingen
 
22.11.2020 Jazzhaus, Freiburg
 
11.01.2021 naTo, Leipzig
 
16.01.2021 Birdland, Neuburg
 
30.01.2021 Schloß Tiengen, Tiengen
 
02.02.2021 Jazz Club, Chur, CH
 
09.02.2021 DLF Kammermusiksaal, Köln
 
18.03.2021 Romanfabrik, Frankfurt
 
20.03.2021 Jazz in der Villa, Grassau
 
29.09.2021 Theater Gütersloh, Gütersloh
 

Discography

creatures & states

(2020, enja/yellowbird)

  1. Brushing Hippopotami
  2. Minotaurus Labyrinth
  3. Choral for P
  4. Herbstmonat
  5. Mr. Liu
  6. Hal Incandenza
  7. Einsiedlerkrebs
  8. Flirr!
  9. La Vie
  10. Der Tuchmacher

coming out 15th of October 2020!
 

miniatures

(2018, enja/yellowbird)

  1. ballade auf 2 beinen
  2. orm
  3. m.’s dreaming
  4. gravity
  5. still enough
  6. back and forth
  7. résister tendrement
  8. irischer reisefluch
  9. and this will be
  10. the 7th sea
 
 
 

OBENLAND

(2016, enja / N.C. Music)
 
  1. Eulogie
  2. Klabautermann
  3. Descend and resurface
  4. Kleine None, große Reise
  5. Sieben
  6. Erdweben
  7. Obenland
  8. Petite chambre à Montmartre
 
 
 
 
 

XENON

(2014, enja / N.C. Music)

  1. Cowboy (für Luc)
  2. Leise Wie Er
  3. Orphelia
  4. Nie Wieder
  5. 24 – 48
  6. Warme Fusion
  7. Ein verlorener Romantiker
  8. Same Old Story
 
 
 

Media

Contact

Booking Worldwide
Sarah Chaksad
+41 79 427 82 66
sarah.chaksad@esteam-music.com

About

Der Zweijahresrhythmus bleibt gewahrt, auch beim vierten Album des Eva Klesse Quartetts. Ende Oktober 2018 erschien Miniatures – Ten Songs For Chamber Jazz Quartet, begleitet von begeisterten Medienreaktionen. Viele lobten besonders die traumwandlerisch sicheren Interaktionen der Band und ihre charakteristische, variable Klangsprache. „In den Stücken dieses Albums ist kaum ein Takt so, wie man ihn erwarten würde. Kein Klischee. Kein Abfeiern von Effekten. Sondern die Lust am instrumentalen Gespräch“, konstatierte BR-Klassik und Matthias Wegner attestierte im Deutschlandfunk Kultur: „…ein wunderbarer Gesamtsound: unaufgeregt, aber dennoch voller Tiefe.“ Ulrich Steinmetzger notierte in der Leipziger Volkszeitung: „Die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung der Band, die auf feine Details und milde Stimmungen setzt und nicht auf vorder-gründige Überrumpelung, ist höchst faszinierend.“

Nun also das nächste Kapitel dieser künstlerischen Erfolgsgeschichte: creatures & states. Erneut macht die reflektierte, 2015 mit einem Jazz-Echo ausgezeichnete Band ihren Fokus klar: das musikalische Erzählen imaginärer Geschichten, die eigene Erlebnisse abstrahieren und sich aus Emotionen speisen. Strategische Überlegungen spielen dabei entschieden keine Rolle. Zentral ist hingegen der gemeinsam weiterentwickelte Sound, der sich bewusst von kurzlebigen Trends fernhält. Weil das, was heute hip ist, morgen schon von der nächsten Mode überholt sein kann.

creatures & states erzählt von Lebewesen und Zuständen, in die sie geraten können. Absichtsvoll lässt die Band in ihren farbenreichen Stücken Wirklichkeit, Traum und Fiktion verschwimmen, nimmt ihre Zuhörer*innen mit auf Reisen in unterschiedliche Stimmungen. „Unsere Musik wird immer präziser und tiefgreifender“, erklärt Evgeny Ring die Entwicklung aus seiner Sicht, „die Kompositionen gewinnen noch mehr an Bedeutung. Es ist durch und durch eine Ensemble-Platte, die nicht ausufernde Soli in den Vordergrund stellt. Und zu jedem Stück haben wir eine klare visuelle Vorstellung, gemeinsame Bilder im Kopf.“

„Wir haben das ‚verflixte’ siebte Jahr überstanden, Höhen und Tiefen zusammen gemeistert“, freut sich Eva Klesse. „Es gab verrückte Zeiten, in denen wir intensiv auf Tournee waren“, erinnert sie sich an Reisen in Europa, der Türkei, acht Länder Mittel- und Südamerikas, Malaysia und Ägypten, wo das Quartett u.a. bei Festivals in Buenos Aires, Kairo, Mexiko City, Santiago de Chile auftrat. Und dann plötzlich das drastische Gegenteil, die Corona-Mo-nate mit ihren umfangreichen Einschränkungen. „Wir lernen uns immer besser kennen, menschlich wie musikalisch. Andererseits gelingt es uns nach wie vor, uns gegenseitig mit neuartigen Stücken/ Kompositionen zu überraschen, uns zu inspirieren und auf der Bühne gegenseitig herauszufordern.“

creatures & states manifestiert erneut den internationalen Status des Quartetts. Wie seine Vorgänger wurde das Album gemeinsam in einem Raum im Kölner Loft-Studio eingespielt. Die Intimität und Intensität der Sessions ist jederzeit spürbar. Insgesamt scheint die Energie in dynamischen Spitzen noch einmal merklich gewachsen, angestachelt vom mal sensiblen, mal wirbelnd-wuchtigen Spiel Klesses. Souverän lässt die Band Traditionen hinter sich; ihre Innovationskraft zeigt sich im stilübergreifenden Denken, klugen Details und feinen Nuancen. Die Musik des Eva Klesse Quartetts beeindruckt mit Substanz und Tiefe, Eleganz und Individualität, Verve und Esprit.

 

Klesse hat zweifellos die perfekten Partner für ihre Philosophie gewonnen.“

(Rondo)

Musik, die auf einmal eine andere Welt preisgibt.“

(BR.de)

Evgeny Ring: Saxophon

Philip Frischkorn: Piano

Stefan Schönegg: Kontrabass

Eva Klesse: Schlagzeug

Live

30.10.2020 Jazzfreunde, Kleve
 
12.11.2020 Unterfahrt, München
 
13.11.2020 Bird’s Eye, Basel, CH
 
14.11.2020 Bird’s Eye, Basel, CH
 
15.11.2020 Stadthalle, Werl
 
19.11.2020 Pianosalon, Berlin
 
20.11.2020 Jazzclub, Singen
 
21.11.2020 Jazzclub, Villingen
 
22.11.2020 Jazzhaus, Freiburg
 
11.01.2021 naTo, Leipzig
 
16.01.2021 Birdland, Neuburg
 
30.01.2021 Schloß Tiengen, Tiengen
 
02.02.2021 Jazz Club, Chur, CH
 
09.02.2021 DLF Kammermusiksaal, Köln
 
18.03.2021 Romanfabrik, Frankfurt
 
20.03.2021 Jazz in der Villa, Grassau
 
29.09.2021 Theater Gütersloh, Gütersloh
 

Discography

creatures & states

(2020, enja/yellowbird)

  1. Brushing Hippopotami
  2. Minotaurus Labyrinth
  3. Choral for P
  4. Herbstmonat
  5. Mr. Liu
  6. Hal Incandenza
  7. Einsiedlerkrebs
  8. Flirr!
  9. La Vie
  10. Der Tuchmacher
 
 

miniatures

(2018, enja/yellowbird)

  1. ballade auf 2 beinen
  2. orm
  3. m.’s dreaming
  4. gravity
  5. still enough
  6. back and forth
  7. résister tendrement
  8. irischer reisefluch
  9. and this will be
  10. the 7th sea
 
 
 

OBENLAND

(2016, enja / N.C. Music)
 
  1. Eulogie
  2. Klabautermann
  3. Descend and resurface
  4. Kleine None, große Reise
  5. Sieben
  6. Erdweben
  7. Obenland
  8. Petite chambre à Montmartre
 
 
 
 
 

XENON

(2014, enja / N.C. Music)

  1. Cowboy (für Luc)
  2. Leise Wie Er
  3. Orphelia
  4. Nie Wieder
  5. 24 – 48
  6. Warme Fusion
  7. Ein verlorener Romantiker
  8. Same Old Story
 
 
 

Media

Contact

Booking Worldwide
Sarah Chaksad
+41 79 427 82 66
sarah.chaksad@esteam-music.com

 

Kontakt Eva